Why Should You Become EPA 608 Certified

Why Should You Become EPA 608 Certified
August 11, 2019 Comments Off on Why Should You Become EPA 608 Certified front Andy Cross

By obtaining a certificate you have demonstrated you skill to a licensed instructor. This is proof that you not only understand the subject but have actual “hands on” experience working with various HVAC systems and can trouble shoot a variety of challenges. The EPA does require being EPA 608 Certified so that you can legally handle refrigerants—which is an essential skill of the HVAC industry.

Within the EPA 608 Certification, there are four levels:

  • Type 1 allows an HVAC tech to handle small appliances that contain less than 5 pounds of refrigerants (i.e., a refrigerator).
  • Type 2 will allow the HVAC professional to deal with high-pressure refrigerants.
  • Type 3 allows the handling of low-pressure refrigerants.
  • The fourth type is ‘Universal’, which includes Types 1, 2, and 3.

When graduating from Champion Technician Institute you will be EPA 608 Type 1 certified.

It should be noted that, the more certifications you have under your belt, the more desirable of an employee you’ll become! Accumulating various certifications is proof that you are dedicated to your career and in enhancing your knowledge to the point where employers and consumers alike will benefit from your superior expertise.

HVAC careers are plentiful, and by becoming a certified HVAC technician, you will have no problem finding your dream position. There are HVAC technician positions needing to be filled all over the U.S. We need YOU!

About The Author